No Sales Tax Due For A Filing Period
You must file a sales tax return every filing period, even if no sales are made and no tax has been collected.
Failure to file will result in the Department filing a return on your behalf and estimating the amount to be billed. These estimated returns will be due and payable until an actual return is filed. If you no longer need your sales tax account , notify the Colorado Department of Revenue as soon as possible.
For more information, visit the How to Zero File a Sales Tax Return web page.
Your New Jersey Sales Tax Filing Requirements
To file a sales tax return in New Jersey, you must begin by reporting gross sales for the reporting period, and calculate the total amount of sales tax due from this period. The state of New Jersey provides all taxpayers with three choices for filing their taxes. One option is to file online by using the New Jersey Division of Taxation. This online system can also be utilized to remit the payment. The online system Autofile can be utilized to both file and pay your business’s taxes online. the final option is filing manually through the mail, using form ST-50. Tax payers should be aware of a late filing penalty. For each month, or fraction of a month, that it is late, a 5% penalty is owed. The maximum compounded penalty percentage is 25%. For each late month, an additional one hundred dollars may also be charged. The penalty for a late payment is also 5%. Interest is calculated annually at 3% higher than the primary rate for each individual month. All unpaid penalties and interest is compounded, and owed at the end of each calendar year.The state of New Jersey requires that every seller who owns a sales tax permit to file a sales tax return on the required day, even if it is a “zeroes-out” tax return, and there is nothing to report.
New Jersey Sales Tax Filing Due Dates
It’s important to know the due dates associated with the filing frequency assigned to your business by the New Jersey Division of Taxation. This way you’ll be prepared and can plan accordingly. Failure to file by the assigned date can lead to late fines and interest charges.
The New Jersey Division of Taxation requires all sales tax filing to be completed by the 20th of the month following the assigned filing period. Upon completing your sales tax registration, businesses are assigned quarterly filing frequency. A business may also be required to make monthly payments if they meet the following criteria:
- Collected more than $30,000 in Sales and Use Tax in New Jersey during the prior calendar year and
- Collected more than $500 in the first and/or second month of the current calendar quarter.
Below, we’ve grouped New Jersey sales tax filing due dates by filing frequency for your convenience. Due dates falling on a weekend or holiday are adjusted to the following business day.
Don’t Miss: Maryland Sales And Use Tax
Failure To Collect New Jersey Sales Tax
If you meet the criteria for collecting sales tax and choose not to, youll be held responsible for the tax due, plus applicable penalties and interest.
Its extremely important to set up tax collection at the point of sale its near impossible to collect sales tax from customers after a transaction is complete.
Amending A Sales Tax Return
When you are filing an amended return, be sure to mark the Amended Return Box. The amended return must show all tax columns as corrected, not merely the difference. The amended return will replace the original return in its entirety. When completing your amended return, you need to use the correct service fee rate for the period you are amending.
If you make an overpayment of sales tax due or have a credit resulting from a mistake, error or canceled sale, credit for the amount of overpayment may be taken on a subsequent Retail Sales Tax Return . If you underreport, a separate form for the same period must be filed.
If you are no longer engaged in business and you have an overpayment or made a mistake on a prior return, you should apply for a refund using the Sellers Claim for Refund.
You May Like: How Much Tax Is Taken Out Of Paycheck
Wise Is The Cheaper Faster Way To Send Money Abroad
Exporting or importing goods from abroad to sell in the US? Want to pay your sales tax via direct debit?
With Wise for Business, you can get a better deal for paying supplier invoices and buying goods overseas. Well always give you the same rate you see on Google, combined with our low, upfront fee so youll never have to worry about getting an unfair exchange rate.
That means you spend less on currency conversion, and have more to invest in growing your business.
Set up recurring direct debits from your Wise account, where payments will be automatically taken out on schedule. So it’s not only money you’ll be saving with Wise, but time as well.
New Jersey Penalties And Interest Payments
A return filed late is fined as follows:
- 5 percent of the tax due for each month or part of a month the return is late
- A penalty of $100 for each month the return is late may also be charged above and beyond the percentage penalty
- A penalty of 5 percent of the tax due may also be charged for late payments
The maximum penalty for late filing is 25 percent of the late taxes.
Interest is calculated at the annual rate of 3 percent above the prime rate for every month or part of a month the tax remains unpaid, compounded annually. If outstanding taxes, penalties, and interest remain unpaid at the end of the calendar year, the outstanding balance becomes part of the balance on which interest is charged.
Because businesses are not required to file returns for periods in which $500 or less is due, theres no provision for a zero monthly filing. However, a quarterly return must be filed even if no tax is due and no sales were made for that particular quarter.
Note: You may be subject to fines and a jail sentence if you fail to make, render, sign, certify, or file any return or report. You may be subject to fines and a jail sentence if you willfully fail to deposit taxes in a financial institution as required or fail to remit the state and local taxes collected.
Read Also: Bexar County Tax Assessor Collector San Antonio Tx
In Olden Days Before The Internet
But in a issued by the U.S. Supreme Court in June, the justices upheld a South Dakota law that established a sales tax for online purchases made by that states residents. In their decision, the justices suggested the online sales have created a tax shelter that disadvantages in-state brick-and-mortar businesses selling the same products. They also noted technological advances and tax software make it much easier to track and process state sales-tax rates.
The court decision came down just days before New Jerseys deadline for a new budget, and lawmakers rushed to pass a measure resembling South Dakotas. Murphy conditionally vetoed the measure, after which lawmakers redrafted it, and it eventually made it back to the governors desk late last month. He signed the bill into law late last week, meaning it will be in place for Black Friday and Cyber Monday, two of the years busiest days for e-commerce.
Nj Income Tax Resident Return
This service allows you to prepare and electronically file your current year New Jersey return if you filed a New Jersey return for the previous year. To access this feature, you will need to validate that you did so by providing the New Jersey Gross Income amount from your prior year New Jersey Income Tax Return .
The convenient to use ‘Save’ feature allows you to start your return now and finish later without losing your work. Upload electronic copies of your W2s and other financial documents to your online return.
If you have a balance due, you may pay your taxes online by e-check or credit card and receive immediate confirmation that your return and payment have been received by the State of New Jersey.
Important Notes: This service only provides for filing New Jersey Resident Income Tax returns. If you need to file any other New Jersey return, visit theDivision of Taxation website. This is a free service for New Jersey residents who do not wish to use paid services. Generally, paid tax return preparation and filing services provide advanced features, such as tax filing tips, not found in this service.
Read Also: How Late Can I File My Taxes
How & When To Pay Your Property Taxes
- Tax payments are due February 1, May 1, August 1, and November 1 of each year. There is a 10-calendar day grace period each quarter, however it is important to note that interest accrues from the original due date for any payments received after the 10-calendar day grace period.
- Interest is at the rate of 8% per annum on the first $1500.00 and 18% on the amount in excess of $1500.00.
- When making your payments, if you wish to receive a receipt, the tax bill in it’s entirety must accompany the payment.
- If you are mailing in your payment and you wish to receive a receipt, a self addressed stamped envelope should be included with your entire tax bill.
- Your receipt will appear on the reverse side of your bill.
- Make your check payable to: City of Englewood and mail to either of the above addresses.
- Tax History Query
Misplacing A Sales Tax Exemption/resale Certificate
New Jersey sales tax exemption and resale certificates are worth far more than the paper theyre written on. If youre audited and cannot validate an exempt transaction, the New Jersey Division of Taxation may hold you responsible for the uncollected sales tax. In some cases, late fees and interest will be applied and can result in large, unexpected bills.
Don’t Miss: Boat Loan Calculator With Tax
Filing Requirements & Frequency
If your business will be selling, renting or leasing tangible personal property, you must get a Sales Tax Account / License and file sales tax returns. Colorado generally does not impose a state sales tax on services. Some Colorado home-rule cities charge a sales tax on certain services. Contact those cities directly for further information.
Filing Frequency & Due Dates
Filing frequency is determined by the amount of sales tax collected monthly.
- $15 or less per month: Sales tax returns may be filed annually. Annual returns are due January 20.
- Under $300 per month: Sales tax returns may be filed quarterly.
Note: If the 20th day falls on a weekend or holiday, the due date is the next business day.
Sourcing Sales Tax In New Jersey: Which Rate To Collect
In some states, sales tax rates, rules, and regulations are based on the location of the seller and the origin of the sale . In others, sales tax is based on the location of the buyer and the destination of the sale .
New Jersey generally uses destination-based sourcing. In New Jersey, the sales tax rate is generally determined by the point of delivery, which is where ownership and/or possession of the item is transferred by the seller to the purchaser. For services, the rate is based on where the service is delivered, or where the property on which the service is performed is delivered.
For additional information, see the New Jersey Division of Taxation.
Also Check: How Can Tax Identity Theft Occur
Countdown To New State Sales Tax On Online Shopping
The new tax policy goes into effect next month, just in time for the start of this years holiday shopping season.
Signed into law by Gov. Phil Murphy last week, the policy change comes several months after a major U.S. Supreme Court ruling made it clear that states have a right to require that companies collect sales taxes in the states where they are selling products online even if they dont have a physical presence there.
New Jerseys new law will require online retailers and marketplaces like eBay to begin collecting sales taxes and turning the revenue over to the state if they have gross revenues over $100,000 a year in New Jersey, or if their in-state sales volume exceeds more than 200 transactions annually.
Lawmakers have portrayed the levying of online sales taxes as an issue of fairness for the states brick-and-mortar retailers, putting them on a more equal footing with online companies. The new policy, which takes effect on November 1, could also juice up revenue collections for the cash-starved state initial estimates predict nearly $200 million or more could be collected during the current fiscal year.
Acquiring A Registered Business
You must register with the New Jersey Division of Revenue and Enterprise Services if you acquire an existing business in New Jersey. The state requires all registered businesses to have the current business owners name and contact information on file.
You may also choose to register through the Streamlined Sales Tax Registration System .
Read Also: How Do Trusts Avoid Taxes
When You Need To Collect New Jersey Sales Tax
In New Jersey, sales tax is levied on the sale of tangible goods and some services. The tax is collected by the seller and remitted to state tax authorities. The seller acts as a de facto tax collector.
To help you determine whether you need to collect sales tax in New Jersey, start by answering these three questions:
If the answer to all three questions is yes, then youre required to register with the state tax authority, collect the correct amount of sales tax per sale, file returns, and remit to the state.
Exemption For Travel Agencies
The new tax law requires the same 6.625 percent sales-tax rate that is currently levied on in-person purchases in New Jersey to also be applied to the remote sales. But it provides an exemption for travel agencies, including those that arrange accommodations online.
After Murphys recent decision to sign the bill, sponsors suggested the policy change should benefit state-based businesses which hire New Jersey residents and pay local taxes on their properties whereas the online companies have no real ties to the state.
The fact that they are not physically located in New Jersey should not exempt a business from sales tax and use requirements, said Assemblyman Paul Moriarty . These businesses should play by the same rules as other New Jersey businesses who pay property taxes, local taxes and make an investment in the communities theyre in.
Read Also: Is It Better To File Taxes Jointly
When To File And Pay
You must file a sales tax return either monthly, quarterly, or yearly. The deadlines* are as follows:
âMonthlyFor monthly filers, reports are due on the 20th day of the month following the reporting month. For example, the July sales tax report is due August 20.QuarterlyFor quarterly filers, reports are due on the 20th day of the month following the reporting period.
*Itâs always possible to file before the deadline. NJâs website gives this warning:
âIf you do wait until the filing due date, you may experience high volume related errors with the online filing system. These issues are usually intermittent, but may impact your ability to file timely.â
Note: Didnât make any sales in New Jersey during your reporting period? You should still report that. This is often called a âzero returnâ and it follows the exact same process as a normal return.
Do You Need To File A New Jersey Sales Tax Return
Once you have an active sales tax permit in New Jersey, you will need to begin filing sales tax returns. Not sure if you need a permit in New Jersey? No problem. Check out our blog, Do You Need to Get a Sales Tax Permit in New Jersey?
Also, If you would rather ask someone else to handle your New Jersey filings, our team at TaxValet can handle that for you with our Done-for-You Sales Tax Service. We specialize in eliminating the stress and hassle of sales tax.
Read Also: When Can You File Your Taxes
Municipal & Third Party Tax Liens
Municipal and Third Party tax liens cannot be paid online. All redemptions of liens must be made through the tax office with certified funds, such as certified check, money order or cash. Redemption figures must be requested in advance and may take 3 or more business days to be provided.
Note: Online tax accounts with 3rd party tax liens may report taxes as paid, however the taxes may have been paid by the lien-holder and are still due as part of the 3rd party lien. Municipal liens may also report taxes as paid, however the taxes may only have been transferred to the lien and are still due as part of the Municipal lien.
How To Register For A New Jersey Seller’s Permit
You can register for a New Jersey Sales Tax Certificate of Authority online through the New Jersey Division of Revenue and Enterprise Services. To apply, youll need to provide certain information about your business, including but not limited to:
- Business name, address, and contact information
- Federal EIN number
Recommended Reading: Best Place To Do Your Taxes